A Brief History of Modern Rock Live

Gwen Stefani of No Doubt answers fans' questions on Modern Rock Live via AOL.
Gwen Stefani of No Doubt answers fans’ questions on Modern Rock Live via AOL.

Modern Rock Live was a call-in radio show that featured artists of the alternative/modern rock genre. It coincided with the rise of the alternative nation in the 1990s.

The show was created in late 1991, and one of its first affiliates was the world famous 92.7 WDRE in Garden City, New York (one of the forerunners of alternative and modern rock radio). Originally, it was a 60 minute show, broadcast live on Monday nights at 11pm Eastern (8pm Pacific), hosted by Tom Calderone. In 1994, it became a sister program to Rockline, and moved to Tuesday nights.  In 1995, it expanded to a 90 minute show on Sunday nights with a start time of 10:30pm Eastern (7:30pm Pacific). After Tom Calderone started working for VH1 in 1998, Max Tolkoff took over hosting duties and would remain there until the show’s final broadcast in November 2000.

My own interaction with Modern Rock Live came in late 1995 and early 1996, when I worked on the Rockline/Modern Rock Live area on AOL (see My History with Rockline for additional information). The AOL area is gone, as is the original show, but I’ve managed to cobble together these guest lists from old files on my hard drive and various internet searches. Reading them through, you get an idea of where music was at the time, and maybe a glimpse into how things got to where they are now.

Years marked with an asterisk (*) are incomplete.  Please do not ask me if I have tapes or recordings of any of these shows, as I do not.  Last updated March 1, 2015.

1992 * | 1993 * | 1994 * | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 * | 1998 | 1999 | 2000