Bob Coburn has passed away #BCingyou

2016 has been a rough year for celebrity deaths, so perhaps this one shouldn’t come as too much of a surprise.

But it still does.

Last night, I noticed someone made an edit to the Rockline article on Wikipedia with the note “death of bob coburn.”  I did some verification, and sure enough, Bob Coburn had passed away:

Bob Coburn, legendary L.A. DJ and longtime host of the syndicated show Rockline, has passed away at the age of 68. He had been fighting stage four lung cancer.

I’ve already written about my personal history with Rockline, so there’s no need to repeat it in this post.

BC was part of the old guard, when the DJ’s voice would make you stop what you were doing and pay attention.  For myself, and many rock music fans, Rockline was required listening.  It was “appointment radio,” and Bob really helped make it that way.  You will be missed, Bob.  Thanks for all you’ve done.

Author: Chuck

I started out as a child, then things kind of grew from there.  I spend way too much time around computers and radios, but I do like to take a break once in a while.  I'm not a real doctor, but I played one on the radio in college. A bit later on, I wrote an article that was published in COMPUTE!'s Gazette (Commodore 64/128 magazine). I also think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

Have something to say?

