Twenty Years and Counting

Weezer (Blue Album)
A number of things happened since the first Weezer album came out (photo credit: Wikipedia).

The other day, I realized that it’s been 20 years since I created my first website. That’s quite a milestone when you think about it, and in terms of the internet, it’s ancient history!  I don’t know exactly what it looked like back then, but if you hit this link you can see how it was back in March 1997.

Did you look? Yikes, that was so… Web 1.0.

That got me to thinking of the many events that happened between now and then. Some things are still around, and some things didn’t quite last.  This list doesn’t show everything that happened, so if I missed something you think I should have mentioned, let me know in the comments.

1994

  • Jerry and David’s guide to the World Wide Web goes online. Three months later, it is renamed Yahoo!
  • Dave Winer, creator of the Scripting News, begins blogging.
  • Netscape Navigator is released.

1995

1996

1997

  • The first DVD movies are released in the United States.
  • Netflix is founded.

1998

  • The DMCA is signed into law by President Bill Clinton.
  • Larry Page and Sergey Brin begin a research project at Stanford University that would shortly become Google.
  • Microsoft releases Windows 98.

1999

2000

2001

2002

2003

2004

2005

2006

2007

2008

  • Hulu launches for public access.

2009

2010

2011

2012

2013

2014

  • U2 releases their album Songs of Innocence for free on the iTunes Store for all iTunes users. Many users do not appreciate this “gift” and want to return it. Bono says “sorry about that.”
Author: Chuck

I started out as a child, then things kind of grew from there.  I spend way too much time around computers and radios, but I do like to take a break once in a while.  I'm not a real doctor, but I played one on the radio in college. A bit later on, I wrote an article that was published in COMPUTE!'s Gazette (Commodore 64/128 magazine). I also think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

1 thought on “Twenty Years and Counting”

Have something to say?

