Yesterday was National Radio Day… wha?

You know, you would think I would be on top of something like this.  I had never heard of National Radio Day until this tweet came across my feed.  So, I did a little digging (aka, Googling).  I didn’t find much in the way of information about this day, but I did find a page at Holiday Insights that had this to say:

When : Always August 20th

National Radio Day celebrates a great invention and communications medium.

Oh!  That’s, um, useful.  The same page goes on to say:

The Origin of National Radio Day:

We found some evidence on blogs and radio station websites suggesting that this is a more recently established holiday, dating only to the 1990s. Radio station personnel, in a number of radio stations, began talking about creating their own holiday. After all, they frequently promoted bizarre and unique holidays of all kinds. From these conversations, this special day took on life.

Our research did not find a identify an individual or group having created this day.

We did not find any documentation confirming this to be a “National” day. We found no congressional records or presidential proclamation.

So, this National Radio Day really isn’t official, it’s just something some folks decided would be a good idea.

Author: Chuck

I started out as a child, then things kind of grew from there.  I spend way too much time around computers and radios, but I do like to take a break once in a while.  I'm not a real doctor, but I played one on the radio in college. A bit later on, I wrote an article that was published in COMPUTE!'s Gazette (Commodore 64/128 magazine). I also think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

Have something to say?

