What’s on your (car) radio?

Honda Civic Hybrid
Honda Civic Hybrid (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here’s a quintessential summer scene (I know it’s still chilly outside, but humor me for a moment).  Reese Witherspoon is driving her (or someone else’s) convertible car down the road.  The car top is down and you hear music coming out of the speakers.  Today’s dashboard has many entertainment options from satellite to MP3s, but according to modern research, she probably has the radio on:

Fifty-eight percent say they use AM/FM all of the time or most of the time while only 4 percent say they listen to online radio all of the time or most of the time when connected in the car.

For as long as there have been car radios, there have been buttons where you can set up the radio stations you prefer (to enjoy for yourself, or to annoy your kids in the back seat). So, what presets are on your car radio?

Let me show you what’s on mine. I have a 2009 Honda Civic Hybrid with 12 FM (FM1/FM2) and 6 AM presets available.

FM1 is where I put my “first choice” selections.

  • 90.1 WUSB – Sunday Street every Sunday morning, Off the Wall every Tuesday evening, and all kinds of things in between from Stony Brook University.
  • 90.7 WFUV – Corny mornings, and the musical equivalent of the next preset.
  • 92.9 WEHM – Mornings with Anthony, and “progressive radio” all day.
  • 94.3 The Shark (WWSK) – The “new kid” on the block, hopefully they’ll add more personalities soon.
  • 102.3 WBAB – This used to be the spot for 101.9 RXP.
  • 103.9 WRCN – Now that they’ve updated their playlist, I’ve bumped them up from the “second tier.”

FM2 is the “second tier” of FM options.

  • 89.5 WPKN – Once again, all kinds of things every day from Bridgeport, CT.
  • 95.1 WRKI – Long time rock station, probably will keep playing AC/DC until the end of the world.
  • 95.9 WFOX – Once Connoisseur (owners of The Shark) has their hands on it, who knows what will happen to this classic rocker.
  • 99.1 WPLR – See comment above.
  • 104.3 WAXQ – The lone classic rock station based in New York City, owned by Clear Channel, and rides the revenue coattails of Z-100.
  • 105.7 W289AD (WSUF translator) – It’s hard to find local news on the radio around here, but they do make some effort to represent Long Island in their top of the hour and bottom of the hour news headlines (even though their main studio is in Connecticut).

I must confess, the AM presets are, on the whole, ignored.  It’s mildly interesting to put them on once in a while, but I think I only have them set up this way because I don’t know what else to put on there.

Summer is (relatively) nearly upon us, what will you turn on?

Author: Chuck

I started out as a child, then things kind of grew from there.  I spend way too much time around computers and radios, but I do like to take a break once in a while.  I'm not a real doctor, but I played one on the radio in college. A bit later on, I wrote an article that was published in COMPUTE!'s Gazette (Commodore 64/128 magazine). I also think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

Have something to say?

