The Shark is Biting

94.3 The Shark is making waves.  No squidding!  And the listeners aren’t crabby, either.  They’re actually tuning in for many minnows at a time:

Early ratings have been very strong. Marketing of the product has created a nice buzz on the island. And, most importantly, revenue is up, according to Market Manager Dave Widmer. The station mixes classic rock music with newer rock music, which according to the research Connoisseur paid for, works with the younger demo.

I admit I’ve been tuning in myself, just for the halibut.  The music mix sounds good (to the ears of this ex-WRXP listener), but the one thing that keeps me from sticking around for extended periods is their lack of personalities.  Without them, it sounds like a non-stop jukebox.  If you listen to the podcast in the linked article, Widmer talks about personalities and how the audience is looking for people who know the music that’s being played.  Makes me wonder what kind of big fish they’ll hire for mornings.

I don’t think there are enough fish puns in this post.  This should fix that.

Kip Addotta – “Wet Dream”

Author: Chuck

I started out as a child, then things kind of grew from there.  I spend way too much time around computers and radios, but I do like to take a break once in a while.  I'm not a real doctor, but I played one on the radio in college. A bit later on, I wrote an article that was published in COMPUTE!'s Gazette (Commodore 64/128 magazine). I also think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

Have something to say?

