Summer Wind: Standards blow into 94.7 FM

No, I don’t mean the former stomping grounds of Harold Camping.  I mean the other 94.7 FM, the one in Ridge.  But I’m getting ahead of myself, let me back up a few years…

In 2005, 94.7 WLIX-LP went on the air with an alternative format.  “Radio for the rest of us” it called itself.  Several translators were added to expand its coverage throughout Suffolk county.  However, it could not maintain a profit, so the network of stations was sold in 2007 and became Christian radio, The Voice of Hope.  I was disappointed in this change, so I removed the station from my radio presets.  Actually, it was one of the translators I had preset, as 94.7 WFME prevented me from hearing WLIX-LP very well.

A few things happened in the last couple of years.  In 2011, 107.1 FM in the Hamptons became part of the Voice of Hope network.  94.7 FM then began running a tape loop, saying that new programming would be coming soon.  In February 2012, 94.7 WFME changed its license from non-commercial to commercial, fueling rumors that a sale might be imminent.  This made 94.7 worth monitoring on occasion.

About a week ago, I was tuning in 94.7 FM on my car radio, to see what was on.  As I drove eastward, I could hear something different that the old tape loop.  An actual format had arrived!  It turns out they began broadcasting as The Penthouse:

Big Sticks Broadcasting is proud to announce that our adult standards format went live just before the Labor Day weekend on Long Island at 94.7 WLIX in Suffolk County. We’re very happy to add another standards station to market 19!

Yes, this is the same Penthouse Radio that’s on thepenthouse.fm.  They’ve gone from online only to low power FM.

What’s that?  You say you’re in the mood for some Frank Sinatra?  Very well…

Frank Sinatra – “Summer Wind”

Author: Chuck

I started out as a child, then things kind of grew from there.  I spend way too much time around computers and radios, but I do like to take a break once in a while.  I'm not a real doctor, but I played one on the radio in college. A bit later on, I wrote an article that was published in COMPUTE!'s Gazette (Commodore 64/128 magazine). I also think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

5 thoughts on “Summer Wind: Standards blow into 94.7 FM”

  1. Its good to hear standards on the radio again, the only draw back is that when I am listening to the station they dont seem to play the classic songs, for instance when Fly Me To The Moon is played I want to hear it by Sinatra, not Michael Buble, even though Buble is a good singer, hopefully they will play more classics. Did the religious group sell that frequency? I enjoy standards, big Sinatra fan, hopefully it will continue to grow

    Like

  2. Much appreciation for sharing the information contained in this article.

    Yesterday morning, while driving eastbound on the LIE, somewhere between exits 66 and 71 I was scanning the radio for something good to listen to. I landed on a nice jazz tune. Paid little mind to what station it was. It faded out after a 1.5 songs and was replaced with Christian music. Came home a few hours later, tried to find the name of the station online using dozens of search combinations and kept coming up with WLIX Hope and WFME in Jersey. All I knew was the frequency was 94.7 and the announcer had called it a name that started with a “P.” After almost giving up I gave it one last try this morning with the string, “what station bleeds into 94.7 on long island.” Your article came up as #2 under that search.

    Had you not kindly blogged about your experience I’d never have found The Penthouse. Again, thanks!

    Like

    1. Glad you found my post useful! LPFM (Low Power FM) stations are, by their very nature, low powered, and do not cover a very large area. I’ve been able to get 94.7 as far west as exit 63 or 62. I start to get some interference at exit 61.

      Like

Have something to say?

