Where am I?

Oh, here I am!  Hello there!  Don’t worry, I haven’t disappeared, just took a bit of an extended blog-break.

So, what’s been going on?  Let’s see, there were the deaths of Donna Summer and Robin Gibb last month.  To be honest, I was under the impression that disco died several decades ago, but, apparently, that’s not the case.

A couple of radio hosts are calling it quits, as NPR’s Car Talk stops producing new shows in the fall:

“Click and Clack’s” popular weekend advice-and-humor show will continue, and in fact, it has already been featuring some re-purposed content. But brothers Tom and Ray Magliozzi say they’ll turn off the mic at the end of September.

English: National Public Radio headquarters at...
National Public Radio headquarters at 635 Massachusetts Avenue, NW in Washington, D.C. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Maybe it’s because I’m not in their target audience (as I do not tinker with cars), but the few times I’ve accidentally heard Car Talk, I haven’t found it very funny.  I’m not alone in that thought.  True, humor is subjective, and I understand the show has its fans, but… NPR programming isn’t something that I associate with comedy.  Oh, sure, there was that one time they interviewed Dr. Demento on Morning Edition, but he wasn’t cracking jokes (although, I think the interviewer did let out a laugh or two).  If you look at the list of shows on the NPR web site, there are three categories: news, arts & life, and musicNews equals information and few, if any laughs.  Music equals… well… music.  Entertaining, but, again, not full-blown comedy.  Arts & life is in that area of being not quite news, not quite music, but it could be entertaining and/or informative and appeal to the human interest.  Laughs?  Maybe, but not guaranteed. 😉

Please don’t think I have anything against NPR programming in general.  Shows like Car Talk and Wait Wait… Don’t Tell Me! do draw in listeners, and one of them might be you.  I’m just not one of them.  Personally, I prefer to riff on All Things Considered, a la MST3K.  I guess I make my own laughs.

Author: Chuck

I started out as a child, then things kind of grew from there.  I spend way too much time around computers and radios, but I do like to take a break once in a while.  I'm not a real doctor, but I played one on the radio in college. A bit later on, I wrote an article that was published in COMPUTE!'s Gazette (Commodore 64/128 magazine). I also think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

Have something to say?

