Odds and Ends

I’ve got a few odds and ends to share from this past weekend.

Just in case you haven’t heard, Whitney Houston has died, a sad but sadly unsurprising event.  Considering her drug usage in recent years, it was only a matter of time.  Rest in peace, Whitney.

Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace was re-released in a 3-D edition, and overall the experience wasn’t too bad.  Most of the time, I could tell which objects were in front of or behind other objects.  However, there were some parts where I wondered if they had forgotten to apply 3-D rendering (as it was originally filmed in 2-D).  It seemed to happen where there were scenes with a large number of characters or objects.  Aside from a new, digital Yoda, I didn’t notice any other major changes to the movie.  Jar-Jar is still there.  Whatever feelings you had about Phantom Menace when it first came out probably won’t be any different now.  I know most people are waiting for Episode IV to be re-released in 2015.

Last, but not least, I gave the Long Island Radio Dial a bit of a facelift.  It has a cleaner appearance and seems to match my blog theme better.  I’ve also been poking through the radio station entries in Wikipedia, and noticing how some of them need updates.  I started making updates to the WEHM article, and may update others as time permits.  Feel free to join me in my efforts.

Author: Chuck

I started out as a child, then things kind of grew from there.  I spend way too much time around computers and radios, but I do like to take a break once in a while.  I'm not a real doctor, but I played one on the radio in college. A bit later on, I wrote an article that was published in COMPUTE!'s Gazette (Commodore 64/128 magazine). I also think digital watches are a pretty neat idea.

One thought on “Odds and Ends”

  1. you are right Chuck it was only a matter of time, when you get heavely involved in drugs and alcohol only bad things are going to happen, its happened to many great singers, like Judy Garland and Billie Holliday. Its funny because the news media drums it up like it could be something else what else can it be.

    Like

Have something to say?

