Frequency to Watch: FM 103.9

Many rock music fans, including myself, were disappointed when 94.7 flipped to country music.  They had been using the call letters WRXP, which were used on 101.9 FM when they had an alt rock format.  This led some to believe that the alt rock format was returning to 94.7, but that was not to be.

So, why did Cumulus acquire the WRXP call letters in the first place?  As it turns out, they may have something else up their sleeves:

Now that Cumulus has launched Country “Nash-FM” on 94.7 WRXP Newark and the WNSH calls are en-route from their temporary home in Minnesota, it appears that there was a reason that the company brought the WRXP call letters out of mothballs after all.

Following registrations of eleven domains on Monday, Cumulus looks to be preparing a flip of suburban AC 103.9 WFAS-FM Bronxville to the WRXP calls and an Alternative or other Rock based format. The company registered 1039WRXP.com, WRXPFM.com, and WRXP1039.com (as well as .net and .org versions of) along with WRXP.net and .org on January 21.

Could it be possible? That WRXP will be rocking once again in the New York area? Keep your fingers crossed… oh, and while you’re doing that, let me tell you about 103.9‘s signal issues.

WRXP logo.
Third time’s the charm?  Minus the extra “1″? (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

94.7 already has issues when it comes to listening within Suffolk county.  103.9 has similar issues.  It bumps up right against 103.9 WRCN, a long-time rock station on the east end.  In Nassau county, WRCN is less of an issue, and the Bronxville 103.9 may come in louder/stronger.  Give it a try the next time you’re in your car, and feel free to report your results.  I know I will ;-)

7 thoughts on “Frequency to Watch: FM 103.9”

  1. I hope so…I stream from the I Heart Radio website and App to get my alternative fix from other stations around the country. Pandora, etc are OK….but there’s just something about terrestrial radio

    1. Any news since March about this? Since I only get terrestrial radio in my car and my commute can take 40 mins to an hour between East Northport & Port Washington, here on the Island, I would LOVE to have this station back on the air. It was so awesome for such a short amount of time.

      1. I haven’t heard any news about this, but I’m keeping an eye out. The call letters WRXP are currently residing in Minneapolis as part of a trio of sports talk stations. If RXP comes to 103.9 in Westchester, you know I’ll be posting about it ;-)

Have something to say?

